Deleting Your Account: Data portability policy questions for a graceful exit

PortabilityPolicy logoCameron Chapman explains How To Permanently Delete Your Account on Popular Websites. Perhaps your site’s Portability Policy should answer these questions:

How?

  • If you don’t allow account deletion, why?
  • What steps do you take to prevent someone else from deleting my account?
  • What steps do you take to prevent me from deleting my account when I might regret it? (a moment of anger, intoxicated confusion, suffering from dreadful lack of coordination
  • Do you distinguish between account deletion and deactivation?
  • How long will it take for my account to be invisible to others?
  • How long before my account is gone forever?
  • If I delete my account, can others claim my username?
  • If I delete my account, will I be able to use my email address to create a new account?
  • What happens if I don’t have access to the email address I used to start the account?
  • What can delay account closure? (For example, pending financial transactions?)
  • Where is the procedure for deleting my account? What happens after I make the request?

Completeness

  • Where is the list of authorized software/services that might log into my account? (So I can turn them off.)
  • If you let me log into other sites with your credentials (“Sign in with your X account”), what happens to my accounts on the other sites? Where is the list of sites where I use your credentials to login?
  • When you delete my profile and account, what happens to shared/community content, like my contributions to a wiki page or to a threaded conversation or gifts to another person?
  • When I delete my account, do you also cancel subscriptions to any related premium services?
  • Do you make downloading and saving my assets (photos, contacts, history, etc.) part of the account deletion process?
  • When I delete my account, do you also delete my contributions (like videos on YouTube) or should I delete those before requesting account deletion?
  • If I have money or credit balances in my account, what happens to that money when I delete my account?
  • What do you do to help reduce search engine caching of and links to my deleted profile and resources?
  • What do you do with my answer to “Why do you want to delete your account?”

Skype.com’s FAQs try to answer some of these:

How can I delete my public profile?

Your profile record (except the Skype Name) is not stored permanently. skypetiniYour profile will automatically expire and will be deleted from the user directory approximately 10 days after you’ve last used Skype.

How do I delete a SIP Profile?

Before deleting a SIP Profile, please note that deleting a SIP Profile causes: Any remaining Skype Credit allocated to that SIP Profile to be returned to the Skype Manager™ balance. Online Numbers to be returned to Skype Manager for reallocation.

How do I delete my Skype Name or personal profile?

You cannot permanently delete a Skype Name. Your profile record is not stored permanently. Your profile will automatically expire and will be deleted from the user directory approximately 10 days after you ve last used Skype.

How can I delete members of my Skype Manager?

Deleting a personal account will only remove it from your Skype Manager. The account itself will retain any Skype Credit allocated to it. Any subscriptions or Voicemail assigned to the account will be cancelled when the expiry period is reached.

Can I delete my Skype Manager?

Allocate the remaining Skype Credit within your Skype Manager to yourself or to another personal account of your choice. A personal account is one that was not created within Skype Manager.

Can members remove themselves from my Skype Manager?

This depends on the type of account your members have Members with personal accounts can leave the Skype Manager at any time.

What happens if I accidentally registered a phone I was calling from? How do I remove it?

You can remove the phones that you registered for your Skype To Go number by going to your account overview page

How do I remove a business account from a SIP Profile?

Click on the name of the business account that you want to remove. Click Remove account For more detailed help and information on Skype for SIP, there is a Quick Start Guide, a User Guide, and several other Skype for SIP guides available on the Guides page

How do I cancel my subscription?

You can cancel at anytime by signing in to your account and on the Subscription settings page, click Cancel

Skype shows a portability policy will reflect how your service works, what your service does, and your customer service workflows.

A few resources:

Call me at +1-510-343-5664, Skype me, follow @SkypeJournal and @evanwolf.
Visit our Skype Journal private technologist roundtable, one of the longest running public Skype chats.

2 comments to Deleting Your Account: Data portability policy questions for a graceful exit